top of page

PORTUGAL PIGMENT JOURNEY

2 months studio time in a wonderful forest house in Portugal. The main subject of Deborah Kressebuch's work is the production of pigments and colors.

It all started many years ago. From the network, which started long ago as a sponsored kitesurfer, a very special friendship has remained over the years: Joao, professional skipper when Alinghi won the Americans Cup in 2003.

For several years he had repeatedly offered her his forest house as a winter residence. In 2021, this plan had to be scrapped again because Portugal's borders were closed due to Covid. In 2023 the time had finally come: in mid-January she reached the beautiful forest house south of Lisbon. Deborah was allowed to stay and work here as long as she wanted. The house in the middle of a pine and cork oak forest, surrounded by pure silence, was perfect to finally delve deeply and long into her work and to further develop what she otherwise never found the time and peace for.

In specialist literature, she studied old recipes and processes in paint production. She had taken all the books with her. Among them was the wonderful work COLOR BOOK by Alata Verlag. Very well researched information and historical, old knowledge is reproduced with beautiful recordings and thus provides a very good basis for her work topic.

Deborah Kressebuch went in search of the optimal manufacturing process for good pigments. The way was long and slow, besides very grainy:

First of all, it was about finding the good stone - with every step she looked for colored rock in her immediate vicinity and collected, from stones to shells to anything else that seemed particularly colorful to her.

For hours and days she would pound rocks into powder, sift and grind further to the finest possible dust, and fill the precious commodity into her jars. A granular difficulty remained: as colorful and inspiring as the collection looked, the pigments often didn't want to give off their colors as strongly as they first appeared. And so was the ongoing challenge of finding really bold, beautiful colors.

DSC_0368.jpg

On her exploration tours in the country she found ocher mines and many colored shells on the beaches, but she wanted to embark on an even more specific color journey: collect colors for a whole week and follow the colored earths very specifically, first according to Google Maps. As if sent by the universe, she ran into another Joao, this time for burying herself in the sand with the bus, and he was there to push her back out of the sand. Joao himself is a bon vivant, was just on his way home from a two-month trip collecting for his house made of natural materials, which he built entirely by hand and himself. His bus was heavily laden with old ship's beams, driftwood, and beautiful stones. Nobody could have told her better where to find her colors! The clues led them to incredibly impressive places.

The collection was huge and the work that followed was hard and slow. But there was a wide range of pigments, which she continuously tested with different binders - countless test strips for each pigment were created in a large book, each given a name and its own label.

But she wanted to find out more: painting with pigments is one thing. But she couldn't stop looking for recipes for chalks and colored pencils. This search turned out to be more difficult, she found only a few clues from the specialist literature, a recipe for pastels, hints for oil pastels. The internet didn't get her very far, apart from the general realization that extremely high-quality pigments with strong coloring power were required for chalks and especially for colored pencils.

She brainstormed all sorts of thickening binders, bought everything from tapioca to gelatine that could be used in the supermarket - day after day she carried out experiments on the production of chalks and colored pencils and, over a long chain of development experiments, finally found her recipes for Pastel and oil pastels and a recipe for colored pencils.

The impressive palette was initially created with the Gornergrat pigments - because for the upcoming projects she needed the palette of Gornergrat colors as chalks and colored pencils...

 

On the way back to Switzerland in early March, Deborah Kressebuch visited the ocher rocks in the Luberon, where she found further answers in her search for the production of high-quality color pigments. The museum revealed to her processes of cleaning the pigments, which in turn led to an even more complex production - but brought her even closer to her goal.

top of page

PORTUGAL PIGMENTREISE

2 Monate Atelierzeit in einem wundervollen Waldhaus in Portugal. Das Kernthema der Arbeit von Deborah Kressebuch ist die Herstellung von Pigmenten und Farbmitteln.

Es began alles vor vielen Jahren. Vom Netzwerk, welches vor vielen Jahren als gesponserte Kitesurferin entstand, blieb eine ganz besondere Freundschaft über alle Jahre hinweg bestehen: Joao, Profiskipper beim Sieg des Americans Cup 2003 für Alinghi.

Seit einigen Jahren bot er ihr immer wieder sein Waldhaus als Winterresidenz an. 2021 musste dieses Vorhaben wieder verworfen werden, da Portugals Grenzen wegen Covid schlossen. 2023 war es dann endlich soweit: Mitte Januar erreichte sie das wunderschöne Waldhaus südlich von Lissabon. Deborah durfte hier so lange sie wollte bleiben und wirken. Das Haus mitten in einem Pinien- und Korkeichen Wald, umgeben von purer Stille war perfekt, sich endlich einmal tiefgründig und lange in ihre Arbeit zu vertiefen und das weiter zu entwickeln, wofür sie sonst nie die Zeit und Ruhe fand.

In Fachliteratur studierte sie nach alten Rezepturen und Verfahren in der Farbherstellung. Dafür hatte sie sämtliche Bücher mitgenommen. Darunter war das wunderbare Werk FARBENBUCH vom Alata Verlag. Sehr gut recherchierte Informationen und historisches, altes Wissen wird mit wunderschönen Aufnahmen wiedergegeben und ergibt so eine sehr gute Grundlage für ihr Arbeitsthema. 

Deborah Kressebuch hat sich auf die Suche nach den optimalen Herstellungsverfahren für gute Pigmente gemacht. Der Weg war lang und langsam, ausserdem sehr körnig:

Erstmal ging es um das finden der guten Stein - bei jedem Schritt suchte sie nach farbigem Gestein in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung und sammelte, von Steinen über Muscheln über alles andere was ihr besonders farbig vorkam.

Stundenlang und Tagelang zermörserte sie Steine in Pulver, siebte und mahlte weiter bis zum feinstmöglichen Staub und füllte das kostbare Gut in ihre Gläser ab. Eine körnige Schwierigkeit blieb bestehen: So farbig und inspirierend die Sammlung auch aussah, die Pigmente wollten oft ihre Farben nicht so stark hergeben wie sie auf den ersten Blick erschienen. Und ebenso war es die fortlaufende Herausforderung, wirklich kräftige, schöne Farben zu finden.

DSC_0368.jpg

Auf ihren Erkundungstouren im Land fand sie Ockergruben und viele farbige Muscheln an den Stränden, doch sie wollte auf eine noch spezifischere Farbenreise begeben: Eine ganze Woche nur Farben sammeln und ganz geziehlt, erst mal nach Google Maps, den farbigen Erden folgen. Wie vom Universum geschickt, traf sie auf einen weiteren Joao, diesmal, weil sie sich mit dem Bus in den Sand vergraben hatte, und er war zur Stelle, um sie wieder aus dem Sand zu schieben. Joao selbst ein Lebenskünstler, war gerade auf dem Heimweg von zwei Monaten Sammelreise für sein Naturmaterialien-Haus, das er ganz von Hand und selbst erbaute. Sein Bus war schwer beladen mit alten Schiffsbalken, Schwemmholz und wunderschönen Steinen. Niemand hätte ihr besser sagen können, wo sie ihre Farben finden werde! Die Hinweise führten sie an ganz unfassbar eindrückliche Orte.

Der Fundus war riesig und die darauf folgende Arbeit hart und langsam. Doch ergab sich eine breite Palette von Pigmenten, die sie fortlaufend mit verschiedenen Biindemitteln testete - In einem grossen Buch entstanden unzählige Teststreifen für jedes Pigment, jedes erhielt einen Namen und eine eigene Etikette. 

Sie wollte aber noch mehr herausfinden: Mit den Pigmenten zu malen ist das eine. Doch liess es ihr keine Ruhe, Rezepte für Kreiden und Farbstifte zu finden. Diese Suche stellte sich schwieriger heraus, aus der Fachliteratur fand sie nur wenige Anhaltspunkte, ein Rezept für Pastellkreiden, Hinweise für Ölkreiden. Das Internet brachte sie nur wenig weiter, bis auf die allgemeine Erkenntnis, das für Kreiden und besonders für Farbstifte extrem hochqualitative Pigmente mit starker Farbkraft nötig waren.

Sie brainstormte nach allen möglichen verdickenden Bindemitteln, kaufte im Supermarkt von Tapioca bis zu Gelatine alles was irgendwie verwendbar sein könnte - Tag für Tag führte nun sie Experimente zur Herstellung von Kreiden und Farbstiften durch und fand über eine lange Entwicklungskette von Versuchen schlussendlich zu ihren Rezepten für Pastell- und Ölkreiden sowie ein Rezept für Farbstifte.

Die eindrückliche Palette entstand fürs erste mit den Gornergrat Pigmenten - denn für die zunächst anstehenden Projekte brauchte sie die Palette der Gornergrat Farben als Kreiden und Farbstifte...

 

Auf dem Rückweg in die Schweiz Anfang März besuchte Deborah Kressebuch die Ockerfelsen in Luberon, wo sie weitere Antworten auf ihrer Suche nach der Herstellung hochqualitativer Farbpigmente fand. Das Museum offenbahrte ihr Prozesse der Reinigung der Pigmente, welche wiederum zu einer noch aufwändigeren Herstellung führten - sie aber ihrem Ziel noch näher brachte.